Emission Trading Sector Committee at a glance


This sector committee initially focused on the accreditation scheme for verifiers in the regulated European Emission Trading System (EU ETS), taking as its starting point Regulation (EU) No 600/2012 and a wide variety of European and national regulations and instructions. For the upcoming fourth trading period 2021-2030, this accreditation scheme must be adapted to the new Implementing Regulation (EU) 2018/2067 and Delegated Regulation (EU) 2019/331. In 2017, the cases were extended for emissions from maritime transport. This was again based on European legislation (Regulation (EU) 2015/757 and Delegated Regulation (EU) 2016/2072).

Verified emissions from global air transport from 2020 will serve as the basis for determining the offsets required, which under the CORSIA scheme developed by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) will take effect from 2025. To date, the non-regulated area with CO2 footprints of organisations (ISO 14064-1) or CO2 reduction potential of projects (ISO 14064-2) has played only a minor role. The common normative basis for the accreditation of all of the aforementioned areas is currently DIN ISO 14065:2013. The sector committee discusses normative and regulatory changes and their impact on accreditation, verification and the operator level. Where a need for action is identified, the committee draws up supplementary rules for the assessment and training programme.


The Sector Committee on Emission Trading was established in 2012, when Regulation (EU) 600/2012 on accreditation and verification made the review of emission reports by accredited verifiers binding and uniform across Europe from the third trading period (2013-2020). Members of the committee include plant operators, representatives with many years of experience from industry, the German Environment Agency / German Emissions Trading Authority, non-governmental organisations, verifiers, associations and academic disciplines.


David Kroll
GUT Certifizierungsgesellschaft für Managementsysteme mbH

Deputy Chair

Dr. Jochen Neuendorff
Gesellschaft für Ressourcenschutz mbH (GfRS)

Nach oben